Phew! What a week.

Tuesday and Wednesday were spent in London for work which meant leaving the house at 6.30 and since I rarely go to bed early, very little sleep.

Wednesday I went straight to ukulele band practice, which was extended for some of us who were going to be busy Friday. My usual train home was replaced by a bus service which adds half an hour to the journey, so I arrived home just before eleven. 

Thursday passed in a blur of yawning and then Friday myself and five other members of the band appeared on local BBC radio. We’d expected just to do a short spot and a couple of numbers, but ended up doing four songs and staying for almost an hour.

The weekend started with a buzz of activity and Little Boots going off for an early swimming lesson, rearranged in order to be able to watch my uke band’s appearance at a nearby children’s festival.  The weather stayed dry, if a bit windy and after the performance we spent a few hours with friends wandering around the stalls and attractions, before taking our tired feet home on the train.

Sunday was supposed to be a lazy day, but I didn’t seem to stop, alternating between chopping logs (not something I anticipate doing at the back half of May, but this year is shaping up as rubbishy weatherwise as last year), working on some notes on the folklore of trees and tinkering with a trigger mechanism for a cross-bow LB has challenged me to make. It was nearly ten at night by the time I was happy with my notes which made it seem like a very long day.

The tree folklore notes were for a talk f first thing Monday morning, which went pretty well. I suspect that I blathered a little bit, but the children seemed engaged, they were attentive and  asked good questions. In the end I did twice as long as planned, which I guess means it didn’t go too badly.

Afterwards I hastened into work. A late start was planned, but I would still have to make the time up over the week. It seemed a curious way to start a new week, and I was glad enough to get home, especially when I found that a friend had dropped a disc off containing stills and videos of Saturday’s gig.

It was a good end to 7 days of busy-ness, only slightly spoiled by the refusal of my PC to burn a second copy, but that is when all’s said nd done a small matter.

