coke

The plan was to get up before the sun and get to the river.

However I had not reckoned on friends turning up and a spontaneous drink or two, which put paid to any hopes of an early start. By the time I’d got a few chores out of the way the weather had turned grotty, and that, plus my gammy leg put me off going any adventure that woudl involve getting cold and wet.

But I was bored. I could have read a book or something, but I needed to occupy my hands as well as my mind.

So I made this little meths stove out of a couple of coke cans. I’d read about them a few days before on an outdoorsy blog, and never having heard of such a thing found myself searching for more info and soon turned up instructions for making them.

It looked like a fun thing to do and so it proved. It was fairly simple to create, but did take some care and concentration. And a little bit of thought actually because the instructions were not completely clear.

Having made one, I suppose I should try it out, but I might make a better one first. Plus I’d need to make a pot/pan stand for it and that will take some thought, because all the ones I’ve seen so far have been a bit ropey.

