There is a joy to be found in making things.

Whether that’s crafting something from scratch, refurbishing an object that needs a new lease of life, recycling waste into a useful item, or modifying an artefact made for one purpose so that it has a new and different role.

I like and practice, with mixed results, all of these (I could bore you with links to earlier posts, but won’t), and particularly like the creative inventiveness of the “flipping” one.

And so I enjoyed very much this post from Vintage Hiking Depot. Making a plug for bass fishing from an old clothes-peg sounds a bit crazy, but I love the results.

Whilst I don’t have a copy of The Complete Book of Outdoor Lore by Clyde Ormond, I do have a book by a later American outdoorsman. Practical Outdoor Projects by Len McDougall includes a chapter on fishing tackle where suggested lures are made from pieces of shoelace, para-cord and even a foam ear plug.

Also on my bookshelves are a couple of vintage books from the days when anglers had to make much of their own tackle due to cost and/or availability. Both Tackle Making For Anglers (L.Vernon Bates – 1953 edition of an earlier book) and Tackle Making For Fishermen (H.H. Eeles – 1954) explain how to make lures from materials such as old paintbrush handles, metal ball-point pen refills, celluloid, cork, old car headlamp reflectors, copper cistern balls, metal tubing, car inner tubes (red & black) and even Dover sole skins.

A slightly more recent book, and new acquisition, is Fishing – An Illustrated Introduction To The Art Of Catching Fish from 1970. By this time source materials for a home-made pike lure include the metal top of a coffee tin and a plastic bottle.

Mind you these days probably no-one makes their own lures and, even though the VHD post and a look through my books has made me think about diddling some together, I am dissuaded by the fact that I have a box of lures I hardly ever use. I do however like the idea of something that is not mass produced and has a human hand in its making.

And, if I was in the market for something of that ilk and of quality appearance I would go to Paul Adams who was brought to my attention by Tales.

Paul’s site is well worth a visit, especially if you fancy a rather unique roving tackle box that would slip into a large jacket pocket.

“Happy Talking, Talking…..”

