Last year I blogged about buying an old Intrepid fishing reel, and later, briefly about one my dad owned.

Since then I’ve acquired a few more. Quite a few more. Enough to be called a collection in fact – which for anyone in any doubt means more than three of a particular object. Actually means two of the same item and one vaguely similar.

That said I don’t know very much about them and there doesn’t seem to be that much information widely available.

This may be because Intrepid reels as a marque are not particularly well regarded in other than nostalgic terms; most British anglers wetting a line in the late 50s to early 70s would have owned one. Some people actively scorn them, much of which seems to stem from owning a Black Prince as a child (though not all feel that way), or perhaps trying to use them in modern times. I have tried the latter with mixed results, because the fact is they don’t really compare with later reels.

Also, although I understand they came up with many innovations they were let down by build quality/materials. So to some people they are regarded as nasty, badly made little black reels from the 60s.

Personally I think this is far from the real story (reel story?), but then I’m partisan.

