I’ve been noodling away at all manner of things piscatorial lately and so I thought I’d do a week of postings on the subject. If you came here expecting horticulture, please be patient, normal service will be resumed in due course.

A few weeks ago I mentioned that I’ve bought Little Boots a fishing rod as a present for the impending birthday. I thought I should get myself one at the same time, so that I don’t do that parent thing where they buy the child a present and then monopolise it.

It should be stressed that the rod isn’t the sole present – more of an adjunct to the main event – that said, I’m hoping it’s going to be a bit like the Jazz stage at Glastonbury – where the magic often happens, away from the bloated headliners.

Since they were essentially little spinning rods they came with spincast reels and I‘ve no experience of them; although they do seem just the thing for whizzing out a lure, I‘m pretty sure they’re not really suitable for our purposes. So I thought I’d get LB another and picked up a neat little reel from eBay for a few quid. Made in Japan, it is a fairly anonymous little thing despite bearing the legend “Junior Matchmaker 333”. It is very light, just like the rod and the pair feel good together.

It’s important when introducing children to anything, be it musical instruments, sports gear, gardening tools, or whatever, that they are given equipment that suits their size.

And besides, if we catch anything on a light set up like this, it’s going to feel like a whale, which is exactly the thing to make it exciting.

