Some years ago I used to have a small collection of 50s/60s sci-fi books that I bought because of the abstract artwork on the covers.

They are probably in a box in the loft somewhere as are all my other non-horticultural books. Such a waste.

Dearly, dearly, dearly I wish I had shelf space in the house to have them down here. 

Actually what I really want is a room that I could convert into a library. After all, as Cicero said “He who has a garden and a library wants for nothing.“

This is of course a pipe-dream, but it is important, from time to time, to indulge such fancies.

As I’ve mentioned previously on this blog, I have a small collection of artwork which is horticultural in theme, and that would of course go on the walls of my library.

The latest addition to that collection is this science fiction magazine I bought solely for the weird brainish, spineous tree on the cover and plan to frame up.

It was I admit an impulse purchase and experience has taught me not to ignore those sort of impulses.

