Undoubtedly the “Can you guess what it is?” question on my last post was an impossible task – this may be why so few took part – it is certainly why I amended it to the most imaginative answer.

Of the three who took time to answer the most imaginative must be Jo’s cat poo and sundial one*, but the other two both mentioning pottery/clay weren’t I feel so far from the truth, in a bizarre way.

You see the photo was a close up of shell damage on a Nazi gun turret at St Malo, and as you can see from the larger image, the impact of high-explosive shells on the thick steel, does look not unlike the results of heavy stones thrown into deep mud (except the one that looks like a rose).

*Jo – if you would like to email me at

muddyboots1@hotmail.com with your address I’ll post the book to you

