I thought I’d take a brief rest from banging on about RHS 3 and my pathetic college. After all, there is a positive side to the end of any academic course, in that you have free time. And I’m spending mine on reading for enjoyment, rather than for compiling study notes.

That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy some of the course reading, but ‘The Complete Guide To Commercial Vegetable Growing’ by Frank Hardy & Graham Watson is not exactly a page turner. Nor is it to say that I was reading academic horticultural texts all the time. Although I did feel a slight nagging guilt when I wasn’t. It’s also not that I didn’t read the odd non-horti book, just that then the guilty feeling was stronger.

The thing is having the freedom to read without a bad conscious, even if those feelings were self-imposed and rather pointless.

But it’s not just about having the time to read and not having to feel self-reproach, there is a psychological freedom having finished the course, which coupled with a good book doubles the pleasure.

Life is good.

