In my horticultural quote notebook (quotebook?) I try to put quotes on similar themes together. It’s never entirely successful, so that I end up thumbing through the whole thing for a quote that’s not with others on the same subject, before deciding that I perhaps didn’t write it down in the first place.

Almost invariably this will be one of the first quotations  that I see the next time I pick the book up. The reason is that it’s only latterly that I’ve tried to organise the entries, and so many of the initial ones are not where they would be were I starting it now .

This does, in that respect, resemble many gardens – particular new ones, or ones under new ownership. We rush in planting this and that, eager to get things how we’d like it. And then some years later think “I wish I’d put that over there”, or “That would look much better down here”. It’s a hazard of enthusiasm I guess, and as such a necessary one. And if nothing else something to learn from.

One category of quotes that, quite fittingly, has avoided being clumped together might loosely be described as “diversity”. A word I do not like in it’s creepingly PC sense, but in it’s proper sense is something I feel should be celebrated and enjoyed in gardening, but often isn’t.

So I thought I’d post a few of those quotes, if only to remind myself not to be so mean about other people’s gardening, which I often am.

“There is room for many approaches to gardening and they give us the satisfaction of expressing ourselves.”

Christopher Lloyd.

