Following on from the last blog entry there have been a few more exotic edibles arriving at Boot Hall recently.

I’ve got hold of some dried scotch bonnet peppers, partly for the kitchen, but also to liberate some seeds to grow. These are in addition to the three types of chilli I’m already growing. The first are some seeds I’ve saved from “Apache” which is a lovely little, apparently self-fertile, tumbling-formed chilli. It will be interesting to see if they come true. Plus Seeds of Italy’s “Hot Pepper Fuego F1” and one called “Inferno”. The latter I’m hoping will grow to a good size, like “Hungarian Hot Wax“, which is a mild chilli pepper, but large and absolutely perfect for stuffing with feta cheese before baking.

A kind friend recently presented me with a small package containing some pumpkin seeds from India, and also some small bean seeds from the same country. She was not able to tell me anything about either, so it will be fun growing them. As regards the latter my copy of Oriental Vegetables by Joy Larcom tells me that “All oriental beans can be cooked in the same way as French beans when fresh, or like haricot beans when dried.”, so I’m assuming the same applies.

Also included were some okra seeds. I’m not a huge fan of this plant as a vegetable to be honest. I’m kind of with Gordon Ramsey who put it into his TV Room 101 on the basis that it doesn’t taste of anything, and turns into gluey-mush when cooked. But I am definitely inspired into growing it by the discovery that it is a type of Hibiscus, which chimes with my edible and attractive philosophy.

Another foodstuff that definitely fits that is Oca – Oxalis tuberosum. It comes from South America and is apparently a must-have for the groovy grow-your-ownistas. I’m not sure exactly how it arrived on my horticultural radar, but I have been able to lay my hands on small samples of three different types. Pink, White, and predictably, Pink & White.

They are a relative of our native wood sorrel that I mentioned a while, back, and I guess this invasive little pest that I also blogged about. So, like the rest of their clan they have pretty flowers and attractive tri-lobed leaves. But the roots of this one can be eaten.

I am quietly confident it will confuse and irritate the daily-maillotment holders down on my site.

