victorIn just over six short weeks I have an RHS exam. Am I honing my revision programme? Am I focussing on the areas where questions are always asked and tailoring my revision accordingly.

Am I chuff.I’m indulging in what can only be described as displacement activity. Chief amongst which is finishing reading a few books.

One of them is Digger’s Diary by Victor Osborne, which is about a year on his allotment. It’s OK, but not great, and there are better books in then same vein.

I have just read how he (an alleged organic gardener) killed a bumble bee nest in one of his compost bins. I felt a bit ill, which is unusually soft of me, but I do love bumblebees.

The author’s stated reason was that he was worried about being stung. My other half felt the same when I charged indoors a few years back incandescent with glee because bumblies were nesting in my compost bin. I explained that I have never been stung by one – not even the time I had one in my mouth (long story) – but nevertheless it was still difficult to explain what an exciting thing was present in our garden.

It never crossed my mind to destroy the nest and I hope the author later realised the needless folly of his actions.

Still we all do things we later regret.

I just hope I don’t regret not doing more revision.

